Skip to content

My Spinning Wheel

May 3, 2010

Here is my wheel! Her name is Jesse & she is an Ashford Traditional

This wheel retails at around £250 – I bought mine from a gentleman on Ravelry. Good deals are to be found on second hand wheels – mine was £100 & this wheel has been well cared for.

If you are looking for a second hand wheel, they are to be found on Ebay – but be aware, the price tends to be higher. Good sources for a well priced wheel would include Ravelry, your local Weavers Spinners & Dyers Guild & have a look at the special offers to be had at Wingham Wool Work – they have for sale ex-display models, at reduced prices.

Hanging from my wheel I have the following:

A sock! This is my first knitted item, of which I am very proud. It belonged to my youngest daughter & now hangs from my wheel to collect odd scraps of fibre. (These are later used for wet or needle felting.)

An orifice hook. This hook goes through the orifice of the wheel to make an easy job of threading the leader or  yarn.

My spinning supplies bag. Isnt this bag sweet! It comes from Rose Knits & I have found it to be a very useful bag in size & shape.

Here you are able to see my spinning supplies:

Journal for quick notes on my spinning (I keep a larger Spinning Journal, in which I record my spinning experiments & my fleece studies) & project ideas (both spinning & knitting)

Pencil

The other sock! This keeps a nail clipper for cutting yarn, lip balm & hand cream – essential for smooth spinning!

Spare bobbins (the others live with my fibre supply)

Homemade beeswax polish for my wheel – made simply with beeswax, olive oil & essential oils, so the girls are able to use this on their wooden toys.

In the tin I keep the items from my Wheel maintenance kit

Finally you can see a cloth & wheel oil

I like to have these things handy with my wheel – saves me rummaging around for them when they are needed.

Happy Spinning!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 8:31 pm

    Oh how divine, Lynn! I can’t wait to see your progress. I miss chatting with you, my friend.

    hugs,
    Jen

Leave a Reply

