Skip to content

Shetland Fleece

May 13, 2010

Yesterday it was time to scour my prized shetland fleece!

The fleece came from Jamieson & Smith who are based in Lerwick, Shetland. I had telephoned them with the request of a ‘fleece for fine spinning – any colour.’ So opening the package was a little like Christmas day for me!

And here it is – in all its grubby beauty –

All laid out for skirting –

Scoured & hanging to dry – what a fine sight!

It is not too clear from the pictures, but this fleece is a beautiful colour – it ranges from off white  through pale grey, silver to charcoal. Beautiful!

I am undecided as to how to prepare the fleece for spinning – whether to card or comb. I wont be working on this for a little while yet, as I am still spinning for socks!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 8:37 am

    LOVE your new site Lynn
    love your yarn too 🙂
    you came to the same conlusion as me I think. home ed is too mixed in with our lives to seperate into a seperate blog 🙂
    xx

Leave a Reply

